Board of Directors

About CGS


Annual Meetings


The Society is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors, which is elected from the membership during its annual meeting.  Three of the seven members serve as the Society’s officers: President, Vice President, and Secretary-Treasurer.  Each outgoing officer automatically remains on the Board for one year following their term as an officer.  The term of each officer and board member is one year.

2017-18 Board Members

Past President

Brenda Hockensmith

Retired - SC DNR

Charleston, SC


Tyler Clark

Raleigh, NC


Lee Phillips

Univ. of NC - Greensboro

Greensboro, NC

Vice President

Arthur Merschat

Zionville, NC

Board Member

Heather Hanna

UNC-Chapel Hill,

Graduate School

Durham, NC

Home/Contact UsHome.htmlHome.htmlshapeimage_3_link_0

Board Member

Craig Kennedy

Applied Science and Engineering

Jacksonville, FL

Next MeetingNext_Meeting.htmlNext_Meeting.htmlshapeimage_4_link_0

Board Member

Robby Morrow

SC Geological Survey

Columbia, SC